UNSW Canberra logo
Academy Library

Find Theses and Dissertations

other 'How do I Find...?' guides

Locate Australian, New Zealand and International Theses

Trove - Australian Theses 

Search the National Library of Australia's discovery service Trove for print and digital theses held in collecting institutions across Australia.

  • Tip: Select Research & Reports from the Categories menu on the search page. Enter search terms then refine the results by selecting Thesis under the Format heading.

Union list of higher degree theses in Australian university libraries: cumulative edition to 1965 

Find theses submitted for a higher degree at Australian universities between 1959 and 1978 by searching this text.

  • Tip: The link goes to the catalogue record for the cumulative edition to 1965 but there are also supplements at the same location.

New Zealand Libraries (Te Puna) 

Use this web-based search service to search for theses in New Zealand libraries and/or worldwide.

  • Tip: Select Thesis/Dissertation under the Format filter to narrow your results.

nzresearch.org.nz 

Search open-access research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other institutions in New Zealand at this site.

  • Tip: Select Thesis from the Browse by Type menu on the search page.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - GLOBAL 

Search this comprehensive online collection to find doctoral theses from universities in the UK and Ireland dating back to 1716.

British Library - EThOS Electronic Thesis Online Service 

Search this site for doctoral theses from the United Kingdom, including many with free full text access.

DART - Europe E-theses Portal 

Search this extensive collection to locate research theses from European countries.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

Find an extensive list of international sites for locating free, electronic theses and dissertations at this site.

OpenDOAR 

Search and browse this authoritative directory of open-access repositories worldwide.

Theses Canada 

Find theses and dissertations from universities across Canada, covering the 1960s to the present, via this searchable collection.

WorldCat 

Search the world's most comprehensive database of information about library collections by performing a search then selecting the format option of Thesis/Dissertation from under the Book heading.

Find UNSW theses

UNSW theses can be found using the institutional repository UNSWorks.

Some Australian and international theses/dissertations can be found using the Academy Library SearchGateway.

  • Carry out a search on your topic, author, or thesis title. 
  • Refine your results by selecting the tick box next to Dissertations under the Resource Types heading. 

eBooks on Thesis Writing

Need Help? - used on all subject guides - title is hidden via css

Need Help?

Ask Us a Question

Research Consultation

SMS your question to: 61437539020

Call us on: 0434 369 043

Citing and Referencing Help
Staff Sign In