Resource Guides: Strategic Studies: Terrorism and intelligence studies

This guide is an introduction to terrorism and intelligence resources at the Academy Library.
Use this guide to find key databases, journals, books and open source materials.

If you would like further help with your research

please contact a liaison librarian via our AskUs service
phone 0434 369 043, or
visit the Academy Library at Building 13 on campus.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) This link opens in a new window
Offers information on virtually every dimension of security and counter-terrorism, with the aim of enhancing general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to global news and business information from thousands of sources including Fairfax papers such as the Australian Financial Review, Sydney Morning Herald and The Age. Australian information is available from the late 1980's onward.
Stratfor - Global Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides current intelligence and analysis of geopolitics for businesses and government agencies' use in strategic decision-making. Includes terrorism briefs, special reports, and podcasts useful for researchers in area studies, public policy, political science, and business.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Covers information in the social sciences and the humanities generally, but also has some content in science and technology.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and access to a collection of historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.

Studies in Conflict and Terrorism
Publishes peer-reviewed academic articles covering research on terrorism and insurgency.
Terrorism and Political Violence
Publishes scholarly studies of various related forms of violence by rebels and by states, on the links between political violence and organised crime, protest, rebellion, revolution, and human rights.
Critical Studies on Terrorism
Promotes critically-oriented research on terrorism and political violence.
International Journal of Terrorism and Political Hot Spots
Presents research on subjects including international terrorism, prevention, security, state-sponsored terrorism, counterterrorism, media impact and more.
Journal of Policing, Intelligence and Counter Terrorism
Acts as a forum for those around the world undertaking research and practice in the areas of security studies,
Country Reports on Terrorism
Provides access to annual reports to the US Congress on global terrorism. Beginning with the report for 2004, it replaced the previously published Patterns of Global Terrorism.

Society for Terrorism Research
Furthers understanding and prevention of terrorism and political violence through research and theory development and international and multidisciplinary collaboration.
Combating Terrorism Center at West Point
Contributes relevant scholarly perspectives through education, research and policy analysis to combat terrorist threats to the United States. Particular focus is placed on terrorism, counterterrorism, homeland security, and weapons of mass destruction.
Centre for the Study of Terrorism and Political Violence (CSTPV)
Promotes the study of political violence and publishes the open-access Journal of Terrorism Research.
RAND - Terrorism and Homeland Security
Displays research on terrorism, counter terrorism, counterinsurgency, disaster management, and homeland security.