Resource Guides: Space: Astrodynamics, Astronomy & Astrophysics

arXiv This link opens in a new window
Provides an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

NASA's Data Portal
Provides access to a continually growing catalogue of publicly available NASA datasets, APIs, visualisations, and more.

ProQuest Science & Technology Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides a central point to search ProQuest's science and technology databases including Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering, AGRICOLA, Aqualine, Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Impact Statements, Materials Business File, Metadex and Plant Science.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an indexing and abstracting database that covers subject areas including chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases that supply reference and citation data from academic journals, conference proceedings, and other documents in various academic disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Advances in Space Research
Covers all areas of space research including planets and small bodies of the solar system, space plasmas, astrophysics, materials sciences in space, physics in space, space debris, and space weather.
Astrobiology
Dedicated to the understanding of life's origin, evolution, and distribution in the universe, focusing on new findings and discoveries from interplanetary exploration and laboratory research
The Astronomical Journal
Publishes research emphasising significant scientific results. Includes data capture, surveys, analysis techniques, astronomical interpretation, instrumentation, and computing.
Astrophysics and Space Science
Covers the entire range of astronomy, astrophysics, astrophysical cosmology, planetary and space science and the astrophysical aspects of astrobiology.
Celestial Mechanics and Dynamical Astronomy
Covers mathematical, physical and computational aspects of planetary theory, geodesy of the Earth and the planets, dynamics, space mechanics, and much more.
Cosmic Research
Covers flight satellite dynamics, design and structure of spacecraft and research instrumentation, life support systems, and exploration of near space and the solar system.

Analytical Mechanics of Space Systems (4th ed.) by Hanspeter Schaub; John L. Junkins
ISBN: 1624105211
Publication Date: 2018
Comprehensively addresses the dynamics of space systems, covering topics from basic kinematics and dynamics to more advanced celestial mechanics. Includes the derivations and proofs to explain the principles underlying the equations and how to apply them.

About Stars: Their Formation, Evolution, Compositions, Locations and Companions by Michael Mark Woolfson
ISBN: 1786347253
Publication Date: 2019
Describes the means by which to explore the properties, locations and planetary companions of stars, and provides a sound foundation for further study.
Applied Orbit Perturbation and Maintenance by Cha-Chun Chao
ISBN: 1884989179
Publication Date: 2005
Addresses perturbation theories and control, and algorithms for understanding special orbits such as geo-stationary, semi-synchronous, Molniya, sun-synchronous. Includes appropriate technical and mathematical detail, perturbation theories and station-keeping algorithms.
Astrophysics and the Evolution of the Universe by Leonard S. Kisslinger
ISBN: 9813147091
Publication Date: 2016
Covers the basic mathematics and physics concepts needed by undergraduate students to understand the evolution of the universe, and teaches the astrophysical theories behind evolution from early times to the present.
Astrophysics Is Easy!: An Introduction for the Amateur Astronomer by Michael Inglis
ISBN: 3319116444
Publication Date: 2014
Cuts through the difficult mathematics and explains the basics of astrophysics in accessible terms. Using nothing more than plain arithmetic and simple examples, the workings of the universe are outlined in a straightforward and easy-to-grasp manner.
The Birth of Modern Astronomy by H. J. Habing
ISBN: 3319990829
Publication Date: 2019
Discusses the ways in which astronomy expanded after 1945 from a modest discipline to a robust and modern science. Key scientific highlights include exoplanet detection, the accelerated expansion of the Universe, a generally accepted model for the large-scale properties of the Universe and the ΛCDM theory.
Cosmology for the Curious by Delia Perlov; Alex Vilenkin
ISBN: 3319570404
Publication Date: 2017
Provides a gentle, non-technical but rigorous introduction for all those wishing to learn about modern views of the cosmos.
Elementary Cosmology: from Aristotle's Universe to the Big Bang and Beyond by James J. Kolata
ISBN: 1681741008
Publication Date: 2015
Traces the evolution of the scientific understanding of the Universe in Western tradition from the early Greek philosophers to the most modern 21st-century view.
Extragalactic Astronomy and Cosmology: An Introduction by Peter Schneider
ISBN: 364254083X
Publication Date: 2015
Introduces the reader to the astronomy of galaxies, their structure, active galactic nuclei, evolution and large-scale distribution in the Universe.
Fundamental Astronomy by Pekka Kröger (Editor) et al
ISBN: 3662530457
Publication Date: 2016
Delivers a comprehensive introduction to classical and modern astronomy. While emphasising astronomical concepts and the underlying physical principles, the text provides a basis for more profound studies in astronomical sciences.
Fundamentals of Astrodynamics and Applications (4th ed.) by David A. Vallado ; Wayne D McClain
ISBN: 1881883183
Publication Date: 2013
Provides a reference for those involved in the business of spaceflight. Nearly all of the theoretical mathematics is followed by discussions of practical applications implemented in freely available software.
An Introduction to Galaxies and Cosmology by Mark H. Jones (Editor) et al
ISBN: 1107492610
Publication Date: 2015
Contains material to support introductory courses in astronomy and astrophysics, offering learning features like boxed summaries, exercises with full solutions and a glossary.
An Introduction to Modern Cosmology by Andrew Liddle
ISBN: 1118690273
Publication Date: 2015
Provides clear and concise introductory content relevant to a wide range of astronomy programs.
Relativity, Gravitation and Cosmology: A Basic Introduction by Ta-Pei Cheng
ISBN: 9780191722448
Publication Date: 2010
Provides an introduction to Einstein's general theory of relativity, structured so that interesting applications such as gravitational lensing, black holes and cosmology are presented without readers having to first learn the difficult mathematics of tensor calculus.

Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy by Jacqueline Mitton
ISBN: 0511481527
Publication Date: 2012
Contains carefully selected and cross-referenced entries covering a myriad of named astronomical objects, constellations, observatories and space missions. Acronyms and specialist terms are clearly explained.
A Dictionary of Physics by Richard Rennie (Editor); Jonathan Law (Editor)
ISBN: 0192554611
Publication Date: 2019
Covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts in physics, as well as key terms from maths, astrophysics and physical chemistry.
Encyclopedia of Astrobiology by Muriel Gargaud (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 3642112749
Publication Date: 2011
Investigates subjects such as the prevalence of exoplanets, the diversity and hardiness of life, and the likely chances for its emergence. Content written by biologists, astrophysicists, biochemists, geoscientists and space scientists.
Encyclopedia of Earth and Space Science by Timothy M. Kusky; Katherine E. Cullen
ISBN: 1438128592
Publication Date: 2010
Emphasises the physical processes involved in the evolution of the Earth and universe, describes different types of geological and astrophysical phenomena, provides historical perspectives, and gives insight into the process of scientific inquiry.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by Torrence Johnson (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Tilman Spohn (Editor)
ISBN: 0124160344
Publication Date: 2014
Provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact. Includes extensive references, a glossary, and an appendix with data on planetary missions, planets and satellites.
Handbook of Space Astronomy and Astrophysics by Martin V. Zombeck
ISBN: 0511536356
Publication Date: 2012
Contains the most frequently used information in modern astrophysics, as well as a vast number of tables, graphs, diagrams and formulae it also contains information covering topics including atomic physics, nuclear physics, relativity, plasma physics, electromagnetism, mathematics, probability and statistics, and geophysics.
Oxford Dictionary of Astronomy by Ian Ridpath
ISBN: 019173943X
Publication Date: 2012
Contains entries covering all aspects of astronomy from astrophysics and cosmology to galaxies and time. Major entries include Big Bang theory, relativity and variable stars. Biographical entries on eminent astronomers are also included.
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Modern Cosmology by Helge Kragh (Editor); Malcolm Longair (Editor)
ISBN: 0198817665
Publication Date: 2019
Offers a comprehensive and authoritative account of the history ofcosmology from the late nineteenth century to the early twenty-first century. It provides historical background to what we know about the universe today, including not only the successes but also the many false starts.

Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
A digital library portal for researchers in astronomy, astrophysics, and physics, containing millions of records.
ESA Planetary Science Archive (PSA)
A central repository for all scientific and engineering data returned by the ESA's Solar System missions.
JAXA's Observation / Research Result Database
Offers various databases including observation data from satellites and probes.
NASA Open Data
NASA's open data portal.
NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive
NASA's central data repository for all NASA missions.
Planetary Data System (PDS)
A long-term archive of data from NASA's planetary missions, and from other flight and ground-based data acquisitions.
Space Weather Prediction Center
Features space weather predictions provided by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

ESA Images
Provides access to the ESA's images featuring science and exploration, applications, the agency itself, and more.
Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth
Features collections including earth from space, natural hazard and disaster imagery, and historical data.
NASA Images
Provides access to NASA's images, video, and audio.

NOTE: Ensure you view the terms and conditions for reuse on each site prior to using the images from the above sources.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Provides access to the central repository for research and engineering information for the United States Department of Defense.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Provides access to a collection of historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.
Science.gov
Provides access to databases and websites from US federal agencies, offering millions of pages of authoritative government science information including research and development results.