Resource Guides: Mathematics & Statistics: Additional Resources & Help

Mathematics & Statistics - Getting Started

Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook for Dummies by Mark Zegarelli
ISBN: 9780470417492
Publication Date: 2009
Helps readers brush up on general maths skills and practice easy-to-follow exercises. Step-by-step solutions are supplied, together with expert tips on making the leap from arithmetic to algebra.
Essential Mathematical Skills (2nd ed.) by Steven Ian Barry; Stephen Alan Davis
ISBN: 1742249361
Publication Date: 2008
Covers the main areas of mathematics used in the first years of a typical engineering, science or applied mathematics degree. It also includes the essential elements of MATLAB and Maple – two common computer tools used by students at university.
Multivariable Calculus by Don Shimamoto
Publication Date: 2019
Covers the standard material for a one-semester course in multivariable calculus, including curves, differentiability and partial derivatives, multiple integrals, vector fields, line and surface integrals, and the theorems of Green, Stokes, and Gauss.
Multivariable Calculus: Concepts and Contexts (4th ed.) by James Stewart
ISBN: 0357366778
Publication Date: 2019
Offers a streamlined approach to teaching calculus, focusing on major concepts and supporting those with precise definitions, patient explanations, and carefully graded problems. This text offers a balance of theory and conceptual work.

STEM Online Tutorials

STEM Online Tutorials
The Academy Library's guide to online tutorials for STEM subjects. Includes topics such as mathematics, physics, and programming.

Need More Help?

AskUs a question
Book a Librarian
Call: 0434 369 043
Text: 0437 539 020
View the Citations and Referencing guide

Engineering Research Methodology by Dipankar Deb; Rajeeb Dey; Valentina E. Balas
ISBN: 9789811329463
Publication Date: 2019
Provides advice about research for engineering students on topics including literature reviews, attribution, ethics, and presentations.
How to Be a Better Scientist: Researching with Impact by Andrew C. Johnson; John P. Sumpter
ISBN: 1315189070
Publication Date: 2018
Explains what good science means and how to conduct it, including guidance on topics including integrity, gaining confidence, time and resource management, presentations and writing papers.
Practical Research: Planning and Design by Paul D. Leedy, Jeanne Ellis Ormrod
ISBN: 1292095881
Publication Date: 2015
Provides guidance for planning and conducting research, covering problem selection, conducting authentic research, and preparing reports.
Research Methodology: A Step-By-Step Guide for Beginners by Ranjit Kumar
ISBN: 9781446269961
Publication Date: 2014
Offers an encyclopedic introduction to social research methodology, and describes methods to help students select the best approach for their needs.
Research Methodology: The Aims, Practices and Ethics of Science by Peter Pruzan
ISBN: 3319271679
Publication Date: 2016
Provides an in-depth guide to effective scientific research, covering methods, experimental design, planning research, and presenting findings, as well as ethics and the responsibilities of scientists.
Research Methods for Engineers by David V. Thiel
ISBN: 113954232X
Publication Date: 2014
Covers every stage of engineering, providing step-by-step instructions, clear explanations and real-world examples.

UNSW: Writing in Engineering and Science
Want tailored resources for UNSW engineering and science students? View guides on technical writing, lab reports, case study reports, report writing, and honours thesis assistance here.

How to Fix Your Academic Writing Trouble by Inger Mewburn, Katherine Firth, Shaun Lehmann
ISBN: 0335243320
Publication Date: 2019
Provides a clear, accessible guide to help you interpret what your lecturer or supervisor is trying to tell you about your writing - and how to fix it.
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by David Kmiec; Bernadette Longo
ISBN: 1119070260
Publication Date: 2017
Helps engineers and students improve their writing by learning to analyse target audience, tone, and purpose to write effective technical documents.
Pocket Book of Technical Writing for Engineers & Scientists by Leo Finkelstein
ISBN: 0073191590
Publication Date: 2007
Teaches engineering students the skill of technical writing, using practical outlines to show how to produce common technical documents.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words by David Lindsay
ISBN: 9781486311477
Publication Date: 2020
Outlines simple principles for clarifying the objectives of your work and presenting your results with impact.
Technical Writing A-Z: A Commonsense Guide to Engineering Reports and Theses by Trevor M. Young
ISBN: 0791802361
Publication Date: 2005
Provides guidelines, advice, and technical information for preparing a range of report formats.
Writing for Engineers by Joan Van Emden
ISBN: 1403946000
Publication Date: 2005
Contains practical advice and useful examples to help students and engineers write clearly, accurately and impressively.
Writing for Science and Engineering by Heather Silyn-Roberts
ISBN: 0080982859
Publication Date: 2012
Explains the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, conference presentations and more in a clear, concise way.

Need a little extra help? Try these UNSW resources:

Academic Language and Learning (ALL) Unit
Need help with academic writing, study skills or presentations? Book an appointment with a Learning Advisor.
Mathematics and Physics Student Support
Looking for maths or physics tutoring? Make an appointment with the Mathematics and Physics Student Support Coordinator in the UNSW Canberra Learning and Teaching Group.
STEM Tutorials
Do you need resources to help you better understand the concepts you are learning? This site includes online resources for mathematics, engineering, and physics.
UNSW: Writing in Engineering and Science
Want tailored resources for UNSW engineering and science students? View guides on technical writing, lab reports, case study reports, report writing, and honours thesis assistance here.