Academy Library Academy Library This guide is an introduction to resources for higher education at UNSW Canberra. It provides guidance on the best materials to help support your teaching practices, including:
For more in-depth questions relating to your research and information needs, get help from a Librarian. Bookings are welcome for students, researchers and academics. Get assistance with:
DatabasesThese are the best databases for research on best practice in education, pedagogy, learning theory, and higher education. Explore these databases to learn more about student learning, activity and workshop design, best practice for assessment and more.
The UNSW Library collection provides you access to a huge range of both physical and online books. Books can be a great resource for your research, particularly if you are looking for a very in-depth analysis of a topic, or if you are looking for a place to get started. Books often offer a broader suite of information than articles, and can help to introduce you to a subject area. Because books can be much longer than an article, they can also delve deeper into a subject, or include much more historical and contextual information.
Journals and journal articles can be excellent sources for current, scholarly information. They are published on an ongoing basis, allowing you to find the latest information available.
Its important to note that not all scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.You may also need to refer to trade journals, magazines and news articles. While peer-review is the gold standard in reliability, that doesn't mean you can't refer to non-peer-reviewed, or even non-scholarly materials. You just need to make sure you carefully evaluate these resources before incorporating them into your work.
Search for journals in the Library Collection
Searching specific journals can be a great way to find new keywords for your searches, uncover unexpected articles, or help you get started if you're not quite sure how to begin your search. If you are finding a lot of relevant articles come from a particular journal, you can search or browse that particular journal for more relevant content.
To find a specific journal in the collection, you can search the Library Collection.
Trade journals are practice-based journals from particular fields, with content often produced by practitioners themselves. They are designed for people working in a profession or industry and may include industry news, trends, research, regulations, and new products.
Until recently, research into learning and teaching in universities has focused on what the teacher does rather than on what the learner does. However, recent research into student learning indicates what your students do in order to learn is of the greatest importance. Following on from this research, educators have developed "learner-centred" or "Student-Centred" pedagogy that has significantly influenced our understanding of university learning and teaching.
Teachers in universities are increasingly using online or blended course delivery, and UNSW teachers are no exception. Using online tools and Student-Centred Teaching you can create a vibrant student community that enriches your face-to-face teaching and streamlines the assessment process.
CTE has developed an extensive collection of more than 150 Teaching Tips: that is, succinct documents that describe evidence-based ideas and strategies for effective teaching and learning. New instructors will find the tips helpful for answering many of the questions and concerns that arise when teaching in a university setting for the first time. Seasoned instructors can also use the tips to obtain new ideas and learn different approaches.
Students in introductory physics courses typically begin to solve a problem by plunging into the algebraic and numerical solution -- they search for and manipulate equations, plugging numbers into the equations until they find a combination that yields an answer (e.g. the plug-and-chug strategy). They seldom use their conceptual knowledge of physics to qualitatively analyze the problem situation, nor do they systematically plan a solution before they begin numerical and algebraic manipulations of equations. When they arrive at an answer, they are usually satisfied -- they rarely check to see if the answer makes sense. To help students integrate the conceptual and procedural aspects of problem solving so they could become better problem solvers, we introduced a structured, five-step problem solving strategy.
LearnHigher is a network for promoting and facilitating the development and dissemination of high quality, peer-reviewed resources for learning development in the higher education sector.
Our Learning Topics offer articles, tools and resources that can help individuals and groups at MIT reach their goals effectively. The content of each topic is geared especially for members of the MIT community.
This guide has been developed by UNSW Library to provide unmediated support for finding resources suitable to use for open online courses. This includes Open Access (OA) material, Open Educational Resources (OERs), and Creative Commons (CC) licensed resources. By downloading or using any resource, you must also adhere to the particular licence requirements.
Includes more than 2,000 videos and over 1,300 hours of content. Resource types include documentaries, lectures and primary source footage. Covers topics such as special education, educational leadership, behaviour, child development. Levels and learning stages range from early childhood up to university level.
As a country, how can we better inspire our students — and support our educators? To explore ideas, TED, WNET, PBS and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting teamed up for a brand-new one-hour special, funded by CPB's "American Graduate: Let's Make It Happen." TED Talks Education was an exhilarating night of talks hosted by John Legend.
Articles and Census data on education from pre-school to work-related training produced by the ABS.
Find data, reviews and more for the Higher Education sector in Australia.
The Department of Education Research Division Analysis and Data Division is responsible for the collection and dissemination of statistics relating to the provision of higher education at all Australian institutions.
Insights and context to inform policies and global dialogue.
ED oversees several data and statistic resources that collect and analyze data for use by the public, including parents, students, teachers, administrators, policy-makers, and researchers that can be used to change and improve educational programs and policies that impact students of all ages.
The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education. EdStats tools, resources and queries help users visualize and analyze education data.