Resource Guides: Film and media studies: Home

Home

Film and media studies

Using this guide

This guide introduces you to physical and online resources and tools across the UNSW Library network, of which the Academy Library is a member. The information has been carefully selected to help you:

study or research Film and media topics at UNSW
develop your skills in finding useful material irrespective of format
identify relevant publications held in both the Academy Library and UNSW Sydney Library.

Book a Librarian

For more in-depth questions relating to your research and information needs, get help from a Librarian. Bookings are welcome for students, researchers and academics. Get assistance with:

finding and evaluating quality resources for your assessments
understanding copyright
using the Library's collections.

Databases

These are the best databases for beginning your film and media research. These databases contain scholarly articles, reports, news articles and more. Use these databases to conduct research for essays and reports on film and media studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
Informit TVNews
Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format.

View all databases in the film and media studies subject area.

Websites

Organisational and other web resources are useful for research as they can be a source of news, reports, trade publications, and current research. Keep in mind that these resources are usually not peer-reviewed and will require evaluation.

National Film and Sound Archive
Contains more than 1.6 million items from the national audiovisual collection, comprising 334,000 audio recordings, 442,000 moving image works and 870,000 associated documents and artefacts of cultural significance.
Screen Australia
Provides access to resources that support and promote the development of a highly creative, innovative and commercially sustainable Australian screen production industry.