Resource Guides: Engineering: Mechanical Engineering

EngNetBase This link opens in a new window
Facilitates access to a collection of the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering.
ESDU International This link opens in a new window
Provides validated engineering design data, methods and associated software for the engineer. It includes validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples, programs, and related equations on over 1,200 specific aerospace, process, structural, and mechanical engineering topics.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an indexing and abstracting database that covers subject areas including chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases that supply reference and citation data from academic journals, conference proceedings, and other documents in various academic disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Acta Mechanica
Covers the fields of solid and fluid mechanics, with special attention to areas such as non-Newtonian fluid dynamics, micro- and nanomechanics of fluids and solids, smart materials and structures, biomechanics of solids and fluids, and novel issues at the interface of mechanics and materials.
Applied Mechanics Reviews
Includes all sub-disciplines of applied mechanics and engineering science, including fluid and solid mechanics, heat transfer, dynamics and vibration, and applications.
Australian Journal of Mechanical Engineering
Publishes research on the science and practice of mechanical and mechatronic engineering, including highly disruptive discoveries and technologies, and new and emerging sub-disciplines of mechanical engineering.
Experimental Mechanics
Publishes papers in all areas of experimental mechanics, including its theoretical and computational analysis and research in novel experiments to characterise materials, structures, and systems.
International Journal of Engineering Science
Focuses on issues concerning material modeling and response and also covers a wide range of subfields in the engineering sciences.
International Journal of Mechanical Sciences
Provides an international forum for the publication and dissemination of original work which contributes to greater scientific understanding of the main disciplines underpinning the mechanical, civil and material engineering sciences.
Journal of Engineering Mechanics
Covers research on bioengineering, computational mechanics, computer-aided engineering, dynamics of structures, elasticity, experimental analysis and instrumentation, fluid mechanics, flow of granular media, inelastic behavior of solids and structures, probabilistic methods, properties of materials, fracture mechanics, stability of structural elements and systems, and turbulence.
Mechanical Engineering
Delivers an interdisciplinary view into engineering trends and breakthroughs, giving readers a roadmap to better understand today's technology and tomorrow's innovations.

Armour: Materials, Theory and Design by Paul J. Hazell
ISBN: 1482238306
Publication Date: 2015
Describes the protection technologies that are currently driving the latest advances in armour systems and explains the theory, applications, and material science aspects of modern amour design.
Ballistics: Theory and Design of Guns and Ammunition by Donald E. Carlucci; Sidney S. Jacobson
ISBN: 1466564393
Publication Date: 2013
Covers interior, exterior and terminal ballistics, and examines the analytical and computational tools for predicting a weapon’s behavior in terms of pressure, stress, and velocity, demonstrating their applications in ammunition and weapons design.
Ceramic Armour: Design and Defeat Mechanisms by Paul J. Hazell
ISBN: 1921138017
Publication Date: 2006
Addresses the ways that ceramic materials are commonly used to provide ballistic protection for vehicles, aircraft and personnel, and explores development and design of efficient armour systems.
Dynamic Behavior of Materials by Marc A. Meyers
ISBN: 0470172274
Publication Date: 1994
Presents fundamentals and advanced topics relevant to the behavior of materials under in-service conditions such as impact, shock, stress and high-strain rate deformations. Deals extensively with materials from a microstructure perspective which is the future direction of research today.
Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics in SI Units, Global Edition (14th ed.) by Russell Hibbeler
ISBN: 1292088729
Publication Date: 2017
Provides a clear and thorough presentation of the theory and application of engineering mechanics, with the aim of assisting students to develop conceptual understanding and build problem-solving skills.
Engineering Mechanics: Statics in SI Units, Global Edition (12th ed.) by R. C. Hibbeler
ISBN: 9810683995
Publication Date: 2010
Provides students with a clear and thorough presentation of the theory and applications of this subject.
Essentials of Metaheuristics (online version 2.0) by Sean Luke
ISBN: 1300549629
Publication Date: 2012
Covers a wide range of metaheuristics algorithms, representations, selection and modification operators, and related topics.
Fitting and Machining by Ron Culley
ISBN: 1921426780
Publication Date: 2010
Provides practical guidance and clear explanations for trainees, qualified tradespeople and keen home hobbyists.
Fundamentals of Machine Component Design by Robert C. Juvinall; Kurt M. Marshek
ISBN: 9781118987681
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Focuses on the fundamentals of component design: free body diagrams, force flow concepts, failure theories, and fatigue design, with applications to fasteners, springs, bearings, gears, clutches, and brakes.
Fundamentals of Modern Manufacturing (6th ed.) by Mikell P. Groover
ISBN: 1119128692
Publication Date: 2015
Offers coverage of basic engineering materials, recently developed manufacturing processes and electronics manufacturing technologies.
Fundamentals of Thermal-Fluid Sciences (5th ed.) by Yunus A. Çengel; Mehmet Kanoğlu; John M. Cimbala; Robert H. Turner
ISBN: 981472095X
Publication Date: 2017
Offers balanced coverage of thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, and heat transfer, and includes practical examples.
Materials Science and Engineering: An Introduction (11th ed.) by William D. Callister Jr.; David G. Rethwisch
ISBN: 0730382834
Publication Date: 2021
Covers metals, ceramics, polymers, and composites, as well as the relationships between the structural elements of materials and their properties.
Military Metallurgy by Alistair Doig
ISBN: 1907747265
Publication Date: 1998
Gives a broad-based view of metals in military service, covering several examples and rationales. The content is based on course notes compiled for undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Modern Control Engineering (5th ed.) by Katsuhiko Ogata
ISBN: 0136156738
Publication Date: 2010
Offers comprehensive coverage of continuous-time control systems, including frequency response approach, root-locus approach, and state-space approach to analysis and design of control systems.
Sensors and Actuators: Engineering System Instrumentation by Clarence W. de Silva
ISBN: 1466506814
Publication Date: 2015
Presents current techniques, theories and concepts in the field, and addresses relevant design issues, component selection, and practical applications.
Terminal Ballistics (2nd ed.) by Zvi Rosenberg; Erez Dekel
ISBN: 9811003955
Publication Date: 2016
Comprehensively discusses essential aspects of terminal ballistics, combining experimental data, numerical simulations and analytical modeling.
Theory of Machines and Mechanisms (4th ed.) by John Uicker; Gordon Pennock; Joseph Shigley
ISBN: 0195371232
Publication Date: 2010
Covers the fundamentals of mechanisms, kinematics, and dynamics of machines. Known for its simplicity and clarity of writing style, this book features worked examples throughout, end-of-chapter homework problems, and information on synthesis and curvature theory. Includes MATLAB examples.

Blake's Design of Mechanical Joints by Harold Josephs; Ronald L. Huston
ISBN: 1315153823
Publication Date: 2018
Provides authoritative advice on mechanical joint and fastener design, with a balance of basic concepts and practical applications.
A Brief History of Mechanical Engineering by Uday Shanker Dixit, J. Paulo Davim, Manjuri Hazarika
ISBN: 3319429167
Publication Date: 2017
Examines mechanical engineering through the ages and into the future.
Designing Embedded Hardware (2nd ed.) by John Catsoulis
ISBN: 059652093X
Publication Date: 2005
Demonstrates how to design and create entirely new embedded devices and computerised gadgets, as well as how to customise and extend off-the-shelf systems and avoid common pitfalls and traps.
Engineering Optimization by R. Russell Rhinehart
ISBN: 1118936329
Publication Date: 2018
Provides an introduction to engineering optimisation, covering fundamental analytical and numerical techniques, with a focus on human function.
Forth Programmer's Handbook (3rd ed.) by Elizabeth D. Rather
ISBN: 1419675494
Publication Date: 2010
Covers topics from basic principles to advanced concepts such as multitasking and cross-compiling.
A Heat Transfer Textbook (4th ed.) by John H. Lienhard
ISBN: 0486318370
Publication Date: 2013
Offers advanced undergraduate and graduate engineering students a solid foundation in the subjects of conduction, convection, radiation, and phase-change, in addition to the related topic of mass transfer.
Modern Mechanical Engineering : Research, Development and Education by J. Paulo Davim (Editor)
ISBN: 3642451764
Publication Date: 2014
Covers modern subjects of mechanical engineering such as nanomechanics and nanotechnology, mechatronics and robotics, computational mechanics, biomechanics, alternative energies, and sustainability as well as all aspects related to mechanical engineering education.
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design by Richard G. Budynas; Keith J. Nisbett
ISBN: 9780073398204
Publication Date: 2014
Provides students with familiarity with both the basics of design decisions and the standards of industrial components.

The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by Frank Kreith; D. Yogi Goswami
ISBN: 1420041584
Publication Date: 2004
Provides complete coverage of classic engineering issues as well as groundbreaking new subject areas.
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by Tony Atkins; Marcel Escudier
ISBN: 9780199587438
Publication Date: 2013
Provides definitions for mechanical engineering terms in the areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement.
Introduction to Dynamics and Control in Mechanical Engineering Systems by Cho W. S. To
ISBN: 1118934911
Publication Date: 2016
Covers dynamics and controls of engineering systems, with a particular focus on mechanical engineering systems.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers by Ali M. Sadegh, William M Worek
ISBN: 9781259588501
Publication Date: 2018
Offers a wealth of practical information on essential aspects of mechanical engineering, providing clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Materials and Mechanical Design by Myer Kutz (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118907481
Publication Date: 2015
Covers materials and mechanical design across common topics including carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and more.
Piping Calculations Manual by Shashi Menon
ISBN: 1615830154
Publication Date: 2004
Provides the formulas, calculations, and practical tips necessary to smoothly move gas or liquids through pipes, assess the feasibility of improving existing pipeline performance, or design new systems.
Pump Handbook (3rd ed.) by Igor J. Karassik
ISBN: 0071202641
Publication Date: 2001
Offers practical guidance for designing and creating leading-edge pumps.
Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by Karl-Heinrich Grote (Editor); Erik K. Antonsson (Editor)
ISBN: 3540307389
Publication Date: 2009
Covers areas of interest for the practicing engineer as well as for the student, featuring the expertise of authors from all over the world.
System Dynamics for Mechanical Engineers by Matthew Davies; Tony L. Schmitz
ISBN: 1461492939
Publication Date: 2015
Provides guidance in system dynamics for mechanical engineers preparing to enter the workforce.
Thermodynamics: Basic Principles and Engineering Applications by Alan M. Whitman
ISBN: 3030252213
Publication Date: 2020
Intended as an introductory course in thermodynamics, primarily for use in a mechanical or aerospace engineering program. All theoretical discussions throughout the book are accompanied by worked examples illustrating their use in practical devices.

Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG)
Contains publications from the Australian Government’s lead agency charged with applying science and technology to protect and defend Australia and its national interests.
more...less...
Not all DSTG publications are available online. However, the Academy Library has print copies of most earlier public-release DSTG papers.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Provides access to the central repository for research and engineering information for the United States Department of Defense.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Provides access to a collection of historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.
Science.gov
Provides access to databases and websites from US federal agencies, offering millions of pages of authoritative government science information including research and development results.

Standards

Australian Standards Database
This database provides full text access to Australian Standards - AS only, Standards Association of Australia

Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Offers direct access to a repository of active and historical US, European and International standards, US specifications, commercial engineering standards, codes, regulations, and related documents from government military, and commercial sources. Coverage includes ISO, IEC, ACI, API, and ASTM standards.

Patents

AusPat - Australian Patent Search
Allows searching of patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.
Espacenet
Contains data on millions of patent documents from around the world. It offers free access to information about inventions and technical developments from the 19th century to the present.
The Lens
Provides access to a comprehensive patent and scholarly literature search facility provided by Cambia, an Australia-based non-profit organisation.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Provides access to existing patents, published patent applications and other published patent documentation via the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

AccessEngineering
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
Knovel Data Search
Allows users to find materials that meet specific parameters including physical, mechanical and thermal properties. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters.
Knovel Interactive Equations
Combines powerful, browser-based calculation software with a collection of hundreds of ready-to-use equation worksheets keyed to classic reference works and international standards to help engineers solve problems faster.