Resource Guides: Engineering: Materials Engineering

Databases

Databases are organised collections of records or items that you can search and browse.They can contain a range of different resources such as journal articles, eBooks, theses, standards, reports, conference proceedings, technical papers, case studies, newspapers and datasets. Some databases are subject -specific, while others are multi-disciplinary. The following databases are a starting point to begin your research.

ASM materials information ASM International
Consists of four authoritative reference resources and databases. UNSW currently has access to two of these four.
ASM Handbooks Online: a comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Packed with over 25,000 pages of articles, illustrations, tables, graphs specifications and practical examples, today's engineer can access peer-reviewed, trusted information in every area of materials specialization.
ASM Alloy Centre Database - information and data on the composition, structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of engineering materials.
Engineered Materials Abstracts
Covers ceramics, composites and polymers subfiles including: Advanced Polymers Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts and Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics. Citations are drawn from journals, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books.
EngNetBase
Facilitates access to a collection of the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering.
SciFinder-n
Provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases where millions of chemical substances may be searched by name, structure, CAS Registry Numbers, and formula. Free registration is required.
Scopus
Provides access to an indexing and abstracting database that covers subject areas including chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.

Books

Browse books in the Library Collection

To locate books on Materials Engineering, select a subject area below:

Journals

Journals and journal articles can be excellent sources for current, scholarly information. They are published on an ongoing basis, allowing you to find the latest information available.

Peer-reviewed articles

present highly regarded, authoritative information
focus on original academic research
are also called refereed articles
have undergone rigorous academic scrutiny and approval by experts in the same field as the author (peers), to ensure validity and quality.

Browse journals in the Library Collection

Click on a subject area below:

Standards*

are documents created by international or national standards organisations
establish specifications, procedures and guidelines that aim to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistent
cover a range of subjects (including consumer products and services), the environment, energy & water utilities, construction and more
undergo regular review and revision to keep pace with new technologies.

Sources for standards

View all standards databases.

*This information developed using Standards Australia resources.

**Patents*:**

are a legally enforceable right that grants an inventor exclusive commercial rights to their invention, for a set period of time
protect new inventions such as devices, substances, methods and processes
are used across a range of areas including civil engineering, medical technology, biotech, organic chemistry and pharmaceuticals.

This link will take you to the YouTube page for the video. You will find a transcript in the video description.

Sources for patents

View more patents databases.

*This information developed using IP Australia resources.