Engineering

Examines the behaviour of steel structures and the criteria used in their design in detail, and bridges the gap between the methods of analysis and the sizing of structural components.

Provides a broad overview of both traditional and non-traditional civil engineering materials.

Moves beyond traditional approaches to environmental problems to those focused on the design and development of innovative new solutions. The coverage is appropriate for a one-semester undergraduate course.

Discusses the geological aspects that are most significant to civil engineers. Natural and man-induced processes are assessed, contributing to understanding of the geological environments potentially hazardous to civil engineering and construction projects.

Focuses on the fundamental concepts of both soil mechanics and foundation engineering, drawing on worked-out examples and useful supporting figures.

Covers both damage tolerant design and nondestructive inspection, provides examples of threats to structural integrity and discusses applications of failures and evaluation techniques to a variety of industries.

Explores and discusses techniques used for dealing with problems in a uniquely Australian context. It provides comprehensive coverage of fundamental hydrology principles with a focus specific to Australia.

Teaches the theory and first principles of the finite element method while maintaining a balance between its mathematical formulation, programming implementation, and application using commercial software.

Introduces the spectrum of mechanical behavior of materials, emphasising practical engineering methods for testing structural materials to obtain their properties, and predicting their strength and life when used for machines, vehicles, and structures.

Provides a strong conceptual understanding that is essential for solving problems successfully.

Introduces concepts of fluid mechanics in easy-to-understand terms before more complicated examples and problems are discussed.

Covers core concepts and applications of foundation analysis and design specifically for undergraduate civil engineering students. It provides a balance between research and practical field applications, and a wealth of worked-out examples and figures.

Provides an up-to-date treatment of reinforced concrete designs, and deals with the latest industry developments worldwide, including the use of higher strength reinforcing steels and high strength concretes.

Introduces the main concepts of designing steel structures; describes the limit states method of design; demonstrates the methods of calculating the design capacities of structural elements and connections; and illustrates the calculations through worked examples.

Presents the theory and application of structural analysis as it applies to trusses, beams, and frames, enabling understanding of the more important classical methods of structural analysis.

Summarises the main aspects of wood utilisation, with a focus on Australian species of timber and the main species of other countries which receive mention in Australia.

Emphasises the basic theories of reinforced concrete structures and explores their application in structural design and analysis.

Demonstrates the nature and importance of civil engineering not only in the history of civilization and urbanization, but its range of facets today and its challenges for the future.

Describes and explains the stages of work for a project from first consideration through to completion of construction and then beyond to handing over the resulting structures and services.

An easy-to-understand, integrated and comprehensive treatment of the behaviour, analysis and design of reinforced concrete and prestressed concrete structures.

Introduces important concepts in the study of earthquakes related to retrofitting structures to be made earthquake-resistant.

Outlines the key principles and practicalities of earthworks for projects of all scales, for the construction of minor works through to major earth structures.

Presents complex problem solutions in Microsoft Excel, with new topics added to this edition.

Encompasses theory and applications, linear and nonlinear fracture mechanics, solid mechanics, and materials science with a unified, balanced, and in-depth approach.

Provides a balanced treatment of classic analytic methods and contemporary computer-based techniques for conceptualising and designing a structure, based on a problem-solving approach.

Provides a foundation for understanding the development of sustainability in civil engineering, and tools to address the three pillars of sustainability: economics, environment, and society.

Explores aspects of the behaviour and properties of rock and soil that are relevant to the design of buildings, bridges, highways and dams.

Appropriate for undergraduate engineering and science courses, with balanced coverage of topics including environmental pollution, climate change and ozone depletion, risk assessment, indoor air quality, source-reduction and recycling, and groundwater contamination.

Offers students a deep understanding of material behavior and the material selection process involved in supporting the infrastructure needs of society--from buildings, to water and treatment distribution systems, to dams, highways, and airport pavements.

Presents essential topics related to construction materials composition and their practical application. It includes case examples and performance data on the most important groups of materials used in construction, highlighting aspects such as nomenclature, properties, manufacturing processes, selection criteria, products/applications, life cycle and recyclability, and normalization.

Provides a strong conceptual understanding that is essential for solving problems successfully.

Addresses non-destructive technology methods such as acoustic emission, thermography and holography.

Demonstrates how to apply hydrogeology principles to problems related to water supply, contamination, and energy resources.The text covers hydraulic testing, contaminant transport, process and parameter determination, remediation, porosity, permeability, and more.

Provides an understanding of the conceptual basis of the subject and supplies the basic physical principles necessary for developing a sound intuitive and quantitative sense of the way in which water moves through the land.

Explains the theory and practice of reinforced concrete design with many examples, illustrations, and photographs to help students make design decisions.

Uses the theory of reinforced concrete design to teach students the basic scientific and artistic principles of civil engineering.

Provides a definitive, authoritative reference source in the field of civil engineering.

Defines the principles and most commonly used terms found in engineering documents and drawings across multiple disciplines.

Provides concise definitions for some 15,000 terms in the field of environmental science and engineering.

Features thousands of logically organised calculations including start-to-finish calculation procedures for Load Resistance Factor Design, anti-terrorism components, enhanced building security, green construction, safe bridge design, and environmentally sound water treatment.

Covers state-of-the-art and state-of-the-practice for bridge engineering worldwide. Also examines the use of different materials for each region, and discusses various bridge types.

Offers simple definitions designed to help students to learn and associate ideas.

Covers systems design, community and regional planning, and design methods for buildings, airports, highways, tunnels and bridges.

Particularly suited to civil engineering subjects taught at tertiary level.

Features thousands of logically organised calculations including start-to-finish calculation procedures for Load Resistance Factor Design, anti-terrorism components, enhanced building security, green construction, safe bridge design, and environmentally sound water treatment.