UNSW Canberra logo
Academy Library

ELISE | Informing your studies: Library locations

Find your way

Academy Library floorplans

View UNSW Canberra campus map

Shelf numbering systems

Libraries use classification systems that assign a unique number to each item, based on subject area.

Find items on Library shelves using the item number you have found in the catalogue.

Academy Library (UNSW Canberra)
Library of Congress Classification (LC)
The Library of Congress has a useful linked outline of the LC classification

Main Library and Paddington Library
Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC)

Law Library
Moys Classification
A summary of Moys has been developed by the University of Wollongong Library.

Reserved items

You can recall an item that is out on loan to another borrower via myLibrary.

Collect reserved items:

  • Academy Library, Ground floor
    Service Desk area as you enter the Library. Ask the desk staff.
     
    • Main Library, Level 2
      Reservation area adjacent to High Use Collection (self service)
       
    • Law Library
      Help Zone (provide the item number)
       
    • Paddington Library
      Information Desk (provide the item number)

Where is it?

Academy  Library
Canberra campus - floor plans

Ground floor
Service Desk
Course Readings
Defence Collection
Lounge
Hub


 
First floor
Main
Current and Bound periodicals
Folios
Multimedia
Microfilms & microfiche
Exhibition space
 

 

 

 

Main Library
Kensington campus

Level 2
High Use Collection
Reserved items
Level 4
Book and journal collection
Microfilms & microfiche
Level 3
Book and journal collection
Map collection
Levels 6 - 9
Book and journal collection

 For the most up to date collection locations check the Library website.

Law Library
Kensington campus

Ground Level
Books & journals
High Use Collections

Level 4
   280 - 330
   Microfilms & microfiche 
Level 1
Reference collection
Primary materials
Level 5-10
   331 - 999

 For the most up to date collection locations check the Library website.

Paddington Library 
Paddington campus

Ground Level
Reference materials
Bound journals
High Use Collection

Level 4
   280 - 330
   Microfilms & microfiche 
Level 1
Books
Recent issues of journals
   331 - 999

 

Course Readings Collection

  Where is it? Location
 

Academy Library

Main Library

Ground Floor Lounge

Level 2

  Law Library Ground Level
  Paddinton Library Level 1

The Course Readings Collection holds items in high demand:

Course materials and text books

  • 4 hour loans
  • borrow via the Self Check machine or the Service Desk
  • ​return via returns chute

Tip Search tips

  • search for the title
  • narrow your search results by Collection, via the Refine My Results listing in the left hand column

Tip Locating tip

  • check the item record for a Get It tab. This tells you where print copies are located, e.g.

      Available at Course Readings Collection (VA 454.H445 1982)

  • use the item number to find the item on Library shelves
Staff Sign In