Academy Library Academy Library 
 |
There may be a quiz question related to the information on this page. |
SearchGateway
Refine My Results in the left column, helps focus your search by:
Topic
Creator (author)
Date
Collection
Journals or Articles
You can also check item records for more information:
Get It
Availability of print version
Location & item number
Details
Publisher
Place of publication
Date of publication
Item records may also include other editions or formats of an item, e.g. an online version or a video.
All items on Library shelves have item numbers.
Use SearchGateway to find the item number and location.
Learn more:
Library locations, under
the UNSW information tab
To find more information on your topic, check if the author of a text on your course reading list has written other books on the same subject:
Text version
Text version best viewed in Firefox, Safari, IE8 or higher
Finding journal articles
If you are looking for the most current information on a subject, try searching for a journal. Like popular magazines, they are published on an ongoing basis, so it’s easy to find the newest information available.
The scholarly or academic journals that the library subscribes to contain articles relevant to your university studies, so using them also avoids the clutter of a web search engine.
Many journal articles are peer-reviewed which means they are reviewed by experts in the author's field of research.
Some areas, such as business or engineering, for example, may also require trade journals published by relevant industry bodies.
To find a journal article using a citation from your reading list, search the Library collection for the title of the article.
If the article does not appear in your search results, try searching for the journal title.
When searching the Library collection, you can narrow down your results using Refine My Results / Resource Type to only include hits from journals.
If you don’t have a specific journal in mind, try searching for keywords in a subject specific database for more results. Key databases are listed in the Subject Guides on the Library website.
The full text of many journal articles can be accessed online. This means that you can download a complete article, including diagrams and illustrations via a link to the full text or PDF version of the article.
To find articles with full text, search a relevant database using keywords.
Learn more about choosing and searching relevant databases on the Databases page under the Discover tab.
Your database search will display a list of records. Some of these records may provide the full text of articles. You can connect to the full text by clicking on PDF or full text links if they are available.
If an article has no PDF or full text link, click the Find It link to connect to the article via other databases.
Click View It to find databases that can connect you to full text articles. If more than one database is listed, select the one with the date you need.
If no database links to full text are displayed, try searching for the journal title in the SearchGateway to see if the UNSW Library's holds it in print.
Click Get It to look for the item number and location of the journal in the catalogue record. You can then go to the shelf location in the Library and find your article in print.
Check that the spelling is correct:
Is the item you are looking for out on loan?
Use Trove, the catalogue of the National Library of Australia, to search all Australian library catalogues (Place a request via Document Supply) Set up Google Scholar Library Links via Scholar SettingsCheck Help in SearchGateway for tips on how to improve your searches.
For further assistance, visit the Library Information desk or contact the library by clicking the Ask Us link on the Library homepage