Resource Guides: Defence and Military studies: Sea power

This guide is an introduction to sea power resources at UNSW Canberra.
The guide helps you find the best material to begin your research, and includes:

databases
scholarly journals
books
web resources.

Please contact your liaison librarian for assistance or advice.

Maritime

UN Convention on the Law of the Sea Commentary 1982 Online This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive, objective, and authoritative analysis of the development of the 320 articles and 9 annexes in the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, and of relevant provisions in the Final Act of the Conference.

Defence

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) This link opens in a new window
Offers information on virtually every dimension of security and counter-terrorism, with the aim of enhancing general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
Janes - Air & Space - News - Country Intelligence Modules This link opens in a new window
Provides verified, open-source intelligence and analysis. Covers Jane's journals and includes partial access to Jane's defense equipment and technology solutions.

Mulitidisciplinary

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and access to a collection of historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an indexing and abstracting database that covers subject areas including chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases that supply reference and citation data from academic journals, conference proceedings, and other documents in various academic disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Taylor & Francis Journals Platform This link opens in a new window
Provides a gateway to hundreds of multidisciplinary electronic journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge.

Journal for Maritime Research
Presents research analysing the maritime sector at international, national, regional and local levels. Covers perspectives from experimental sciences, nautical sciences, engineering and social sciences.
Naval Aviation News
Publishes articles that review the latest technological advances in aircraft and weapons systems and the influence of American naval air power in global events.
Naval Engineers Journal
Disseminates technical papers in the field of naval engineering and also contains schedules of meetings, symposia, and other events.
Naval History
Highlights the naval history of the United States and the world through feature articles and photographs.
Naval Research Logistics
Publishes peer-reviewed articles in operations research, applied statistics and general quantitative modelling, with a special interest in applications covering the spectrum of logistics problems.
Naval War College Review
Publishes articles that focus on current naval affairs and public policy issues related to United States national defence.
Proceedings of the United States Naval Institute
Features articles on the naval world of yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Its information targets the sea service professional and others interested in naval and maritime affairs.
Royal Australian Navy News
Aims to inform and entertain sailors wherever they are serving. Also contains advice valuable to serving members and those considering reserve employment.
The RUSI Journal
Provides essential reading for anyone seeking to understand war and conflict, British and international defence and security policies, and military history.
Sea Power
Focuses exclusively on the United States's maritime defence news.

Australian War Memorial - Researching Australian military service: First World War, Royal Australian Navy (RAN)
The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, museum, and extensive archive with a purpose to commemorate Australians who have died in war. The First World War (RAN) webpage includes nominal roles, personal service records, medals and awards, photographs and more pertaining to members of the RAN who served in World War 1.
Australian War Memorial - Researching Australian military service: Second World War, Royal Australian Navy (RAN)
The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, museum, and extensive archive with a purpose to commemorate Australians who have died in war. The Second World War (RAN) webpage includes nominal roles, personal service records, medals and awards, photographs and more pertaining to members of the RAN who served in World War 2.
Naval History and Heritage Command
Sea Power Centre - Australia
US Naval Institute
US Naval War College

Informit EduTV
Provides online TV streaming resources for Australian tertiary institutions. Content includes documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles.
Royal Australian Navy Videos

Informit TVNews This link opens in a new window
Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format.