Resource Guides: Defence and Military studies: Airpower

This guide is an introduction to airpower resources at UNSW Canberra.
The guide helps you find the best material to begin your research, and includes:

databases
scholarly journals
books
web resources.

Please contact your liaison librarian for assistance or advice.

Aerospace

ARC Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
Contains decades of technical information and documents on aerospace technology, engineering, science, and covers the most important developments and research in air and space history.
Janes - Air & Space - News - Country Intelligence Modules This link opens in a new window
Provides verified, open-source intelligence and analysis. Covers Jane's journals and includes partial access to Jane's defense equipment and technology solutions.

NASA Data Portal

Security

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) This link opens in a new window
Offers information on virtually every dimension of security and counter-terrorism, with the aim of enhancing general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
Stratfor - Global Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides current intelligence and analysis of geopolitics for businesses and government agencies' use in strategic decision-making. Includes terrorism briefs, special reports, and podcasts useful for researchers in area studies, public policy, political science, and business.

Defence

Janes - Air & Space - News - Country Intelligence Modules This link opens in a new window
Provides verified, open-source intelligence and analysis. Covers Jane's journals and includes partial access to Jane's defense equipment and technology solutions.

Air & Space Power Journal
Focuses on the operational level of war including all factors which contribute to the development, employment and sustaining of combat power.
AirForces Monthly
Publishes up-to-date news and features on air forces, units, aircraft types, combat operations, exercises, air shows etc.
Air Power History
Publishes articles related to the history of the Air Force, published for the Air Force Historical Foundation.
Air and Space Power Review
Supports the British armed forces in general and the Royal Air Force in particular by developing thinking about the application of air power.
Combat Aircraft: the International Journal of Military Aviation
Includes reports, expert briefings and special features on current military aircraft and industry matters, and links coverage of modern subjects with historical stories.
The Journal of the JAPCC
Serves as a forum for presenting topics and stimulating innovative thinking about strategic, operational and tactical aspects of transforming joint air and space power.

Air University (AU)
The website of Air University, headquartered at Maxwell Air Force Base, Alabama - the US Air Force's centre for professional military education.
Airminded
Provides a range of relevant resources, many of which are available as free PDFs. The Academy Library may also hold some print versions.
Air Power Development Centre (RAAF)
The publications area provides access to downloads of books, doctrine, proceedings etc.
Chief of Air Force's Reading List
The CSAF Professional Reading Program aims to develop a common frame of reference among Air Force members to help them become more effective advocates of air and space power. Historical lists are still available to view.
RAND - Project Air Force
The website of a research organisation that develops solutions to public policy challenges, including conducting an integrated program of objective analysis on issues of concern to Air Force leaders.