Skip to main content UNSW Canberra logo
Academy Library

Citations & Referencing

What is EndNote?

EndNote is:

  • a reference and image database - it stores and manages bibliographic references
  • a bibliography and manuscript maker - it creates bibliographies, inserts and formats citations, figures and tables in Microsoft Word with the Cite While You Write feature
  • an online search tool - it searches online databases, and retrieves references directly into EndNote

For more information about EndNote please visit endnote.com

Obtaining and Installing EndNote

EndNote (PC and Mac versions) can be downloaded and installed from the UNSW IT Services website.

Student access    Staff access  

You will be required to enter your ZID and password to access the software page. If, you have forgotten your password you can change it via the Identity Manager https://idm.unsw.edu.au

 

Videos for both Windows and Mac can be found  http://www.youtube.com/user/endnotetraining

 

There are more than 500 output styles available in EndNote however there are also over 7,000 styles available from the EndNote website.

Styles for Australian journals and Harvard (Australian) style are available here.

Why do I need filters or connection files?

Connection files enable EndNote to open, search, and import references from University library catalogues (such as the UNSW catalogue) and also from public library catalogues.

How do I find a connection file?

EndNote Connection Files include a full list of connection files.

Filters are used when importing saved records from a database search into Endnote when direct export is not available.

Where do I find filters?

Filters are available from:

EndNote Online is the web version of EndNote. Compared with the desktop version of EndNote, EndNote Online has similar, but more restricted, functionality. You can use EndNote Online to:

  • Store references online, 
  • Sync your EndNote desktop and online libraries, and
  • Share references with other people.

How to use EndNote Web

  1. Go to https://www.myendnoteweb.com/
  2. Sign up for an account. Once you sign up, you can use EndNote Web from any computer.

EndNote Full Text - Copyright Notice

EndNote Full Text - Copyright Notice

Downloading records into your EndNote library from a database is usually quick and easy, but please ensure you comply with copyright law and database license requirements. 

Be aware of the following issues:

  • You must adhere to copyright exceptions for “Fair Dealing” when uploading and attaching full-text documents to your EndNote library.  In most cases, only one article per journal issue or 10% of a book can be used under these exceptions. Further information on “fair dealing” is available from UNSW’s copyright website.
  • While it may be acceptable to share your EndNote references with others, it may breach Australian copyright law or UNSW’s licence agreements to share full-text materials.  Please contact your School Liaison Librarian if you have concerns about sharing full-text materials.
  • Material downloaded under UNSW licencing agreements must be deleted from your data folders when you leave UNSW.

EndNote Help and support

Need Help? - used on all subject guides - title is hidden via css

Need Help?

Ask Us a Question

Research Consultation

SMS your question to: 61437539020

Call us on: 0262688116
 

Citing and Referencing Help
Staff Sign In