Skip to main content UNSW Canberra logo
Academy Library

American Civil War

Key Databases

American Civil War : Letters and Diaries
Civil War Letters and Diaries contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts.

American Civil War Research Database
Specifically for researching the soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Contains information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs, and thousands of regimental rosters and officer profiles.

 Civil War: Sources in U.S. History Online
Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections which contain nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.

Gale : Primary Sources
Contains a broad selection of nineteenth century newspapers, manuscripts, magazines and monographs. Coverage includes material from the United States and Britain.

illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines (Alexander Street Press)
Provides access to over forty original 19th century newspapers and magazines. Includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in the Civil War era.

Images of the American Civil War : Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera
Includes 75,000 images documenting the camp and battle experiences of Union and Confederate soldiers of all ranks. Documents hospital and prison life and the civilian experience in cities and towns close to and far from the front lines of war. Additionally, graphical content such as envelopes, song sheets, recruiting posters, imprints, and cartoons give users the ability to research how wartime America illustrated their times visually.

 

Search for a database by name

Go to the Academy Library homepage

Select the 'Databases' link below the search box

The databases module opens.
Go to the 'Enter Keywords' field and type in the name of the database (e.g. Gale Primary Sources)
Select 'Go'

From the results list, click on the name of the database to begin your search

Further Help

For further help finding primary source material, please visit the Academy Library and speak to one of our liaison librarians, or contact us online via the AskUs service on the library homepage.

Staff Sign In