Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following tabs are information resources that have been compiled for Research Students of UNSW Canberra to be aware of how Copyright can affect them for the duration of their research, especially:
- with avoiding plagiarism
- seeking permission from publishers and other authors for use of their material within conference papers, journal articles or their thesis
- what to do if permission has not been granted
The "Duration of Studies" tab illustrates the different ways you might undertake seeking Copyright permissions.
Research Students are to familiarise themselves with copyright requirements as they commence their studies.
Thesis Submission @UNSW
This guide outlines the process of thesis submissions at UNSW.
UNSW Intellectual Property Policy
The Policy sets out the principles and practices of The University of New South Wales with respect to Intellectual Property (IP). Matters considered in this Policy
include the nature of IP, its ownership, exploitation and the associated specific procedures adopted within the University to manage IP.
Copyright - Study or Research
The UNSW Library Sydney provides guidelines and advice on most Copyright issues within UNSW. This section touches upon how Study or Research is affected by Copyright.
Note: On the landing page, refer to the sidebar menu for the links to the appropriate information you seek.
Referencing Guidelines for UNSW Canberra Students
The Academic Language and Learning (ALL) Unit provides information and support for all UNSW Canberra students to meet expected academic standards. The Referencing Guidelines indicates how to reference work and citation styles used by UNSW Canberra. It is just one aspect of the support actually provided.
During your studies you should keep in mind copyrighted works that you wish to use within conference papers, journal articles and ultimately your thesis, you will likely need to seek permission from the creator or publisher of the work.
This process can on occasion take a couple of months, so it is in your interest to seek permission as early as possible. Keep a record of the permission somewhere safe
Copyright - Publishing and Communication
The UNSW Library Sydney provides guidelines and advice on most Copyright issues within UNSW. This section touches upon how publishing and communication is affected by Copyright.
Managing your Copyright is a link of particular relevance to read, especially the sub -heading of "Publication agreements", as it has recommendations for retaining some rights of re-use for yourself in future publications
Using Third-party Material in your Article
The publisher Taylor & Francis provides a helpful guideline for its authors on using third-party material within their articles. Its Frequently Asked Questions section covers some scenarios that you might experience.
Avenues to follow in Seeking Copyright Permissions
1. Seeking Request Permission links through Databases
You can Request Permissions for the use of the copyrighted material you have found through many databases. Below are examples of where you might find some of the Request Permission links within the articles. You are usually offered the option of placing this request directly through the publisher or use a service called Rightslink (further details at the bottom of the page).
2. Links to templates for Seeking Copyright Permission
If you are not able to find an area within articles to seek copyright permission you may need to go to the website of publisher of the journal. Within the publisher's website look for a Help menu or Contact Us link where you will be able to find an appropriate information and contact details to make this request. The following links are to templates that you might wish to use when seeking copyright permission through authors or publishers.
UNSW Australia - Permission Guide
Look under the heading of "Requesting permission" for a link to a Permission Request Guide.
This webpage produced by the Copyright Office, University of Melbourne provides useful "Sample of a Letter Requesting Permission" showing a good overview of information that should be included in any letter requesting permission.
Rightslink by the Copyright Clearance Center
The Rightslink service is located in the top right-hand corner of the website (see image below). Through this service you can search for the publication that you wish to seek permission to reproduce material from. Be aware that you will need to register and perhaps pay to use this service if you are going to seek permission to reproduce material through them.
To find further information see the Copyright Clearance Center - Republication Service document.
RoMEO contains publishers' general policies on self-archiving of journal articles and certain conference series. Each entry provides a summary of the publisher's policy, including what version of an article can be deposited, where it can be deposited, and any conditions that are attached to that deposit. For an explaination on what the colour rating means click on the link "More on colours and restrictions" under the heading of Archiving Policy. Please click on the FAQ link if you require further information to explain the purpose of this site.
Research Students should familiarise themselves with the following copyright links as they complete their studies.
Need assistance for a complex Copyright question then please place a request through the UNSW Canberra service AskUs.
Copyright Act 1968
The full version of the Australian Copyright Act 1968 available through the Federal Register of Legislation.
Australian Copyright Council
The Australian Copyright Council offers advice and has useful Information Sheets like:-
- An Introduction to Copyright in Australia
- Writers & Copyright
- Permission: Do I need it?
- Permission: How to get it.
- Assigning & Licensing Rights