Colonial History

Over 200 articles about Australian history and culture are organised by themes such as Australian identity, history, colonial history, Indigenous culture, music and performance, natural environment, and the visual arts and crafts. Hosted by Australia.gov.au

Offers digital access to collections in Spanish from the national library of Spain including manuscripts, books, maps and photos from the fifteenth century onwards.

Official depository of the United Kingdom and one the largest research institutions in the world, the British Library maintains collections of primary and secondary resources. Includes a significant amount of material pertaining to empire and British expansion.

Historical Papers is one of the largest and most comprehensive independent archives in Southern Africa, housing over 3300 collections of historical, political and cultural importance, encompassing the mid 17th Century to the Present.

An online collection of maps detailing the territories of the French empire in the North American continent. The maps cover the period between 1562 and 1825, and encompass the area Port-au-Prince to Labrador.

Includes primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts. Also includes text, monochrome and color images, and sound files with performances of both music hall and parlor ballads. The site also contains a small number of VR images of sculpture and works of decorative art that the viewer can turn and otherwise manipulate.