First World War

A collection of digitised primary and secondary source documents relating to the first World War, from archives around the world. This collection lends insight into the lives and experiences of men and women during the war.

Brill’s Digital Library of World War I is an online resource that contains encyclopedia entries and peer-reviewed articles of transnational and global historical perspectives on significant topics of World War I. This collection includes Brill’s Encyclopedia of the First World War, an unrivalled reference work that showcases the knowledge of experts from 15 countries and offers 26 additional essays on the major belligerents, wartime society and culture, diplomatic and military events, and the historiography of the Great War.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.

Informit provides access to over 80 databases covering a wide range of subjects. Content, is sourced from publishers, associations and peak professional bodies, focuses on regional perspectives and has strong coverage of the Australian context

Informit provides access to over 80 databases covering a wide range of subjects. Content, is sourced from publishers, associations and peak professional bodies, focuses on regional perspectives and has strong coverage of the Australian context

The standard reference source on the unprecedented industrial mobilization of an entire economy to fight the war of 1914-1918, this 12 volume set has previously only been available in a few select libraries with which the British government deposited copies. It is essential for anyone who wants to study the economics behind World War I, the career of David Lloyd George and the process of state intervention in industry.

An online archival collection of primary source materials selected by the official historians of Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO). Comprises 3 different collections. British documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and documents on British Policy Overseas after 1945.

The Cabinet Office records comprise the most valuable single collection of modern (British) material for historical purposes that can be obtained from official sources. Organised into four sections: the Committee of Imperial Defence; Cabinet Committees, 1916-1939; Cabinet Committees, 1939 to 1945, and Cabinet Committees, 1945 onwards.

This database provides complete overviews of 27 wars, with timelines, causes and consequences, portraits of opponents, and links to supporting facts, figures, primary sources, and audiovisual content.