Resource Guides: STEM Tutorials: STEM Tutorials

Welcome to the STEM Tutorials guide, which can help you find resources to help you better understand the concepts you are learning in:

mathematics
chemistry
engineering
physics
programming
and more!

This is just a starting point! You can also search the library catalogue, view more subject guides, or request further help from a friendly librarian -- just AskUs. For broader study skills such as time management, writing and presenting, and referencing and citations, contact the Academic Language and Learning (ALL) Unit for help.

Do you have a favourite tutorial or tool that should be listed here? Contact your librarian to recommend a resource.

Mathematics

3Blue1Brown
Highlights accessible mathematical explanations driven by animations.
BetterExplained
Presents clear, intuitive lessons about imaginary numbers, exponents, and more
The Map of Mathematics
Provides interactive features that provide a flavor of the major questions and controversies that animate the field of mathematics.
Math is Fun
Presents useful resources for those looking for a basic refresher in algebra or calculus.
Patrick JMT
Features videos created by a mathematics professor on a huge range of mathematical problems.
Symbolab
Provides automated step-by-step solutions to algebraic, trigonometric and calculus topics, and has a wealth of smart calculators.
Wolfram MathWorld
Features capsule summaries for over 300 mathematical terms, as well as downloadable notebooks and interactive entries.
Wootube
Contains videos about maths and technology, presented by maths teacher Eddie Woo.

Need maths textbooks? Visit the Mathematics & Statistics subject guide.

Engineering

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multidisciplinary engineering databases includes instructional videos, interactive tables and charts, as well as access to McGraw-Hill's renowned engineering handbooks.

Need more specific resources? Visit the Engineering subject guide.

Chemistry

ChemCollective
Features a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
Chemistry Learning Center Tutorials
Contains online tutorials for first-year chemistry from the University of Illinois.
WolframAlpha Chemistry
Provides data about chemical compounds, reactions, solubility and chemical graph theory, plus information about chemical quantities, unit conversion, molarity calculations and stoichiometry.

Need chemistry dictionaries or encyclopedias? Visit the Chemistry subject guide.

Multidisciplinary

Codeacademy
Provides a place to start to build your side project or simply play around with programming.
Crash Course
Delivers courses on maths, chemistry, physics, social sciences, and study skills.
iLecture Online
Presents videos on a comprehensive range of courses covering maths, physics, astronomy, chemistry and engineering.
Khan Academy
Offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalised learning dashboard covering maths, science, computer programming, electrical engineering, history, art history, economics, and more.
LinkedIn Learning
Provides unlimited access to a vast library (thousands of courses and tutorials) of high-quality, current, and engaging video tutorials taught by professional teachers.
StackExchange
Features online communities to discuss issues and share knowledge on a huge variety of topics, with a special focus on programming.

Need more specific resources? Check out the wide range of subject guides.

Tools

Derivative Calculator
Features a derivative calculator that shows step-by-step solutions.
Desmos
Provides access to an online graphing calculator.
GeoGebra
Includes digital tools for geometry, graphing, 3D and more.
Integral Calculator
Provides an integral calculator that shows step-by-step solutions.
Mathway
Offers a range of calculators covering algebra, trignonometry, calculus, statistics, finite math, linear algebra, chemistry, and graphing.
VassarStats
Provides useful tools for statistical computation.

Need More Help?

AskUs a question
Book a Librarian
Call: 0434 369 043
Text: 0437 539 020
View the Citations and Referencing guide