Resource Guides: History: Australian history

This guide is an introduction to Australian history sources at UNSW Canberra. The guide helps you find the best material to begin your research, and includes:

primary source material
scholarly journals
books
databases
web resources.

Please contact your liaison librarian for assistance or advice.

APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of selected scholarly articles on Australian current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts with FullText This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Informit Abstract and Indexing Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering a wide range of subjects. Content is sourced from publishers, associations and peak professional bodies, focuses on regional perspectives and has strong coverage of the Australian context.
INFORMIT Database Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 80 databases covering a wide range of subjects. Content is sourced from publishers, associations and peak professional bodies, focuses on regional perspectives and has strong coverage of the Australian context.
Informit TVNews This link opens in a new window
Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an indexing and abstracting database that covers subject areas including chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases that supply reference and citation data from academic journals, conference proceedings, and other documents in various academic disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Australian Historical Studies
Deals with all aspects of the Australian past in all its forms - heritage and conservation, archaeology, visual display in museums and galleries, oral history, family history and histories of place.
Australian Journal of Politics and History
Presents papers addressing significant problems of general interest to those working in the fields of history, political studies and international affairs. Articles explore the politics and history of Australia and modern Europe, intellectual history, political history, and the history of political thought.
History Australia
Publishes refereed articles that draw on new historical research or address ways of teaching, exhibiting or applying historical knowledge.
Australian Economic History Review
Addresses the historical treatment of economic, social and business issues, particularly relating to Australia, New Zealand and adjoining regions in Asia and the Pacific.

MIHILIST in print
An Australian military history collection of print books held in the Academy Library.

Australian Dictionary of Biography Online
Provides concise, informative and fascinating descriptions of the lives of over 12,000 significant and representative persons in Australian history.
Colonial Frontier Massacres in Eastern Australia 1788-1872
Identifies and records sites of frontier massacres of Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and non-Indigenous people across Australia from 1788 to 1930.
Australian Literary and Historical Texts
Provides access to a full-text collection of Australian fiction, poetry, plays and non-fictional works, covering early Australia [to c.1920] from the University of Sydney SETIS project.
Documenting a Democracy
Provides original source material from the Museum of Australian Democracy, including 110 key documents that are the foundation of Australia as a nation.
Project Gutenberg's Australian History
Provides access to resources relating to Australian History available from Project Gutenberg Australia and Project Gutenberg in the U.S.