Resource Guides: Australian Military History: Home

Australian military history

Using this guide

This guide introduces you to physical and online resources and tools across the UNSW Library network, of which the Academy Library is a member. The information has been carefully selected to help you:

study or research Australian military history at UNSW
develop your skills in finding useful material irrespective of format
identify relevant publications held in both the Academy Library and UNSW Sydney Library.

Book a Librarian

For more in-depth questions relating to your research and information needs, get help from a Librarian. Bookings are welcome for students, researchers and academics. Get assistance with:

finding and evaluating quality resources for your assessments
understanding copyright
using the Library's collections.

Databases

These are the best databases for beginning your research on Australian Military History. These databases contain scholarly articles, primary sources, reports, news articles and more. Use these databases to conduct research for essays and reports on military history topics.

INFORMIT Database Collections
Provides access to more than 80 databases covering a wide range of subjects. Content is sourced from publishers, associations and peak professional bodies, focuses on regional perspectives and has strong coverage of the Australian context.
Informit Abstract and Indexing Collections
Provides access to databases covering a wide range of subjects. Content is sourced from publishers, associations and peak professional bodies, focuses on regional perspectives and has strong coverage of the Australian context.

Books

The UNSW Library collection provides you access to a huge range of both physical and online books. Books can be a great resource for your research, particularly if you are looking for a very in-depth analysis of a topic, or if you are looking for a place to get started. Books often offer a broader suite of information than articles, and can help to introduce you to a subject area. Because books can be much longer than an article, they can also delve deeper into a subject, or include much more historical and contextual information.

Your lecturer may have assigned textbooks or other books as part of your reading list. To access these books, you can find them through your Reading Lists link on Moodle.

Browse books in the Library Collection written by key historians

Websites

Organisational and other web resources are useful for research as they can be a source of news, reports, trade publications, and current research. Keep in mind that these resources are usually not peer-reviewed and will require evaluation.

The AIF Project: Australian Anzacs in the Great War 1914-1918
The AIF database is drawn from a range of official sources, including personal files on the National Archives website, and Embarkation and Nominal Rolls on the Australian War Memorial website.
Australians at war film archive
Provides interviews that showcase Australia's wartime history from the First World War to Afghanistan.
Australian War Memorial
Provides access to an extensive archive that assists viewers to remember, interpret and understand the Australian experience of war and its enduring impact on Australian society.
National Archives service records
Contains service records of Australian men and women in the military.